New West Partnership Trade Agreement (Nwpta) Region Supplier

Alberta has entered Canadian and foreign markets through trade agreements with other governments. These agreements create a framework for fair and equitable trade rules. Such rules ensure open and non-discriminatory treatment that protects Albertans, businesses and their investors in markets outside Alberta. The federal government is responsible for negotiating Canada`s international trade agreements. The Alberta government defends provincial interests when the federal government negotiates these international agreements, particularly in areas of provincial jurisdiction or where there are significant economic benefits to the province. Examples of Canada`s international trade agreements for Alberta are presented below. The New West Partnership is a series of agreements that economically integrate the Canadian provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. They were created on April 30, 2010. The new Western Partnership Agreement came into force on July 1, 2010. Alberta and British Columbia have already complied with the terms of the agreement at the time of its creation. Saskatchewan is expected to fully implement the agreement by July 1, 2013. Manitoba joined the partnership on November 17, 2016.

[5] The CFTA came into force on July 1, 2017. The CFTA is an agreement between the federal, provincial and territorial governments that aims to remove barriers to trade in the free movement of people, goods, services and investments within Canada. Based on its predecessor, the Internal Trade Agreement, GASTA creates a comprehensive and modern framework for domestic trade in Canada. The CFTA offers a clear set of rules that will make it easier for Alberta businesses to access coast-to-coast opportunities. For more information on the obligations to purchase domestic and international trade agreements, visit the Alberta Purchasing Connection homepage. Building on TILMA, NWPTA creates Canada`s largest inter-provincial free trade area. The NWPTA provides a comprehensive framework to promote trade, investment and labour mobility in the four western provinces. One of the benefits of the agreement is to streamline regulatory requirements for the creation and operation of a business and to eliminate the need to submit multiple registrations and reports between the four provinces. For feedback and general questions about the role of the Government of Alberta in these national and international trade agreements, please contact the Trade Policy Office.